Carnforth, Cumbria & The Lake District

Stargazer Lodge





+3 Show all

Fishing Nearby / On-Site

Hot Tub

Pets - Allowed

Property Info

General Info

Hornby 4.8 miles. Enjoying a fantastic location on the Docker Holiday Park, located in Arkholme, it is within reach of the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales, and the Forest of Bowland AONB, all the while being in the midst of the gorgeous Lune Valley. Perfectly suited for two couples or a family of four looking for a tranquil base, Stargazer Lodge is a thoughtfully designed property hosting all you need for a wonderful stay in Lancashire. Named Stargazer Lodge for a reason, due to having no light pollution you are able to see the stars clearly in the pitch black of night. The kitchen is a decked out with a wealth of appliances set within muted, light grey units with rich wood worktops, where you can let the food simmer on the large gas hob while the rest of your dish cooks in the quality electric oven. Keep in with the conversation as you cook thanks to the open-plan layout as the rest of the group lounges on the sumptuous corner sofa, set before the 40 inch Smart TV and surrounded by well-chosen furnishings. Enjoy a meal at the dining table, with a view of the surrounding scenery of the lake outside and the beautiful grounds visible through the large glass windows and doors that lead out onto the decked balcony. The property benefits from an enclosed decking area, perfect for those summer evenings outside watching the sunset over the view of the beautiful North Yorkshire Dales, or take a dip in the bubbling hot tub for that splash of luxury during your trip. Keep your eyes peeled for a glimpse of the passing steam trains, as the North west line runs just one hundred metres from the lodge. Move through the hall to discover the first double bedroom continuing the calming colour scheme of blue, grey and natural wood; you can unpack your things in the lovely freestanding wardrobe, and even have a dressing table to get ready at, with a TV to watch a film snuggled under the covers. Freshen up in the bathroom opposite where a fabulous roll-top bath with a hand-held shower attachment awaits you to enjoy a tranquil soak for a quiet moment to yourself. Completing this lovely interior is the master bedroom where a super king bed rests across from a heart-warming stove-effect electric fire, and wall-mounted TV; you can wake up to views of the lake and local wildlife, such as alpacas, ducks, geese and swans, before hopping into your own en-suite shower room, afterwards dressing in your walk-in wardrobe. For any fishing enthusiasts there is a fishing lake on site, guests will need to bring their own fishing gear. The magnificent Lune Valley is the jewel in the crown of Lancashire, with many famous poets and artists deriving inspiration from this picturesque place, you can be sure to enjoy exploring its wonders. Keen cyclists can hop on the riverside cycleway which begins in Lancaster, also forming part of the Way of the Roses cycling route which spans 170-miles, with lots of quaint villages with pubs, shops, cafés and tea rooms lie along the way, perfect for a tasty pit-stop on your journey. Visit the beautiful and historic Leighton Hall where you can tour the fabulous and luxurious rooms and the vast parkland, before heading south to the city of Lancaster where you can wander around Lancaster Castle which originates from the 12th century, discover the Maritime Museum, and sample a host of food and drink from the many quirky restaurants and bars. Gather any essentials you need from the nearby village of Hornby which has a local shop and pubs, or head up towards Kirkby Lonsdale which rests on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park for a larger selection of amenities. As well as having the wondrous Lake District National Park just further north, you will have so many amazing activities to enjoy during your stay at Stargazer Lodge. Read More

Property Info

All-ground-floor. Two bedrooms: 1 x super king with en-suite shower, basin, and WC, walk-in wardrobe, and electric stove-effect fire, 1 x double. Bathroom with roll-top bath, hand-held shower, basin, and WC. Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area, and sitting area


Gas central heating with electric stove-effect fire. Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, Smart TVs in lounge and both bedrooms, Xbox One, Blu-ray's & dvd's, Bluetooth speakers in ceiling of both bedrooms and living room plus portable speakers, Netflix and super fast WiFi. Fuel and power inc. in rent. Bed linen and towels inc. in rent. BBQ stand for disposable BBQ. Off-road parking for two cars. Enclosed decking with seating and shared holiday park grounds and play area. Two well-behaved dogs welcome. Sorry, no smoking. Shop within 3.2 miles, pub within 3.2 miles miles. Note: The property can be considered disabled-friendly, it has a ramp up to the entrance and is all on one level, please contact Sykes for more information regarding your requirements. Please note: the hot tub may not be up to temperature on arrival as it is emptied and sanitised after each reservation. It can take up to 24 hours to reach the required temperature. Read More

The Hot Tub

  • Hot tub is private for your use only
  • Electric
  • Seats 6 people
  • Sunken
  • Not undercover
  • Located outside




Couldn’t have asked for a better place to spend my 30th birthday. The views were picturesque, the lodge itself was perfect. The decor and the hot tub really made this lodge stand out. Couldn’t recommend this place more it’s a must

Really disappointed/ green water in hot tub

We were excited to visit the lodge for a change of scenery after lockdown had ended and after our holiday abroad had been cancelled. We booked this lodge via Airbnb and I enquired in booking whether the hot tub was in use and we were told by the host that it would be. Upon check in we were pleased with the location but on further inspection we discovered that the hot tub water was green and there was a brown scum around the edge, the toilet was soiled and the shower head adjustment was faulty. I reported the faults within an hour of checking in with pictures to the host. After we did not receive a response from the host, I contacted Airbnb and the following day the host contacted me. He stated that they were using a non chlorine cleaner and that it was chemically sound, that the cleaners had reported the faulty shower prior to our check in (but couldn’t get the part in time to fix it before we checked in). He said he would get the housekeeping to return that afternoon to sort out the problems. Upon us returning to the lodge later that afternoon, we discovered the hot tub was no better, the toilet hadn’t been cleaned and the shower hadn’t been fixed. The host said that housekeeping was unable to re-enter the lodge due to Covid restrictions (despite me telling him we would not be there). We were only there two nights and if all the issues were resolved, I wouldn’t have had a problem, but they weren’t. The lodge is large, the beds are comfortable and the setting is lovely, but the housekeeping, especially during a pandemic when cleanliness is paramount spoiled our weekend. After requesting a partial refund, the host retaliated by accusing us of breaking his shower head, thankfully I had kept a text message and a voicemail he had sent me saying that housekeeping had reported the faulty shower to him before we got there. I’m sure if the issues we had weren’t there this would be a lovely place to stay but I would be wary of dealing with this host as he will not deal with your complaints, resolve them and then accuse you of damaging his property if you complain.


1,000s have already signed up…we’d like you to as well!

Deals, offers and more into your inbox.
Totally free and you can unsubscribe anytime.